llkagorilla.blogg.se

Windows vs mac vs linux comparison table
Windows vs mac vs linux comparison table




windows vs mac vs linux comparison table

There’s something about how macOS renders its windows and animations that makes it feel a little sluggish compared to Windows on the same hardware. This one is both surprising and unsurprising to me, having used both Windows and macOS for quite some time.

windows vs mac vs linux comparison table

Let’s get cracking… 1 General responsiveness and performance I will rate each of the three OSes on each category from 1 to 5 (5 being the best). I’m going to focus on a number of categories. For Linux, I’m using Ubuntu Studio 18.10 (though I’ve previously had other Ubuntu flavours installed so I can speak a little for Ubuntu/Debian based Linux systems in general). For macOS, I am using High Sierra, installed using Clover. I’m running all of these on an Intel Ivy Bridge (3rd gen) machine with 16GB of DDR3 RAM and an nVidia GTX 980Ti graphics card. Despite this, the goal is hopefully to provide some useful information for people looking to weigh up the pros and cons of each OS.Īll three OSes are installed on SSDs using a SATA III connection. Therefore, you may end up scoring some of these differently if you have different requirements, and you may think of criteria that are important to you but are not on my list. The ratings I devote to each section are based on criteria I choose myself, as well as my own experiences on my own hardware. Second, whilst I’m aiming to be as objective as possible, this is far from scientific. Rather, it is designed to show how well each of them seem to perform across a set of common use cases (which are based on the things I primarily use my system for). First, this is not a comparison looking at technical details. This gives me the ability to make somewhat of an objective comparison about how each system functions for the tasks I care about, and so I thought I’d use this opportunity to do just that. I’ve found myself in somewhat of an atypical situation recently: I have three different operating systems (OSes) installed on my desktop computer.






Windows vs mac vs linux comparison table